About the Division 3 Hockey Team at Indiana University Ice Hockey Program

Founded in 1968, the Division 3 Hockey Team at Indiana University is currently participating in its 53rd season of intercollegiate ice hockey. In 1994, the program moved into the American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA) in which it still presides today. The ACHA is the national governing body of non-varsity intercollegiate ice hockey in the United States. Within the ACHA are over 400 teams across three divisions.


The team is currently a member of Division 3 in the ACHA, and is part of the North Region in the recently formed Indiana Collegiate Hockey Conference (ICHC). The ICHC consists of IU, Purdue, Miami OH, Trine, Butler, Schoolcraft, and IUNW. Each of these universities plays against one another twice in the regular season and once in the preseason showcase before vying for the Crossroads Cup in the ICHC Conference Tournament in February.

In an average season, the team will play 25-30 games against schools mainly in the Midwest area. Non-conference opponents include Big Ten rivals Michigan, Northwestern, and Illinois as well as other Midwest schools including Xavier, Notre Dame, and more. Following the end of the regular season, the Division 3 Hockey Team at Indiana University will play in the ICHC Conference Tournament as well as the ACHA Regional and National tournaments pending qualification. 


Home games are played at the Frank Southern Ice Arena in Bloomington, IN. However, some home games each year are played at the Hamilton Center Ice Arena in Columbus, IN as well. Tickets can be purchased at the door on game days. Admission is free for students and $5 for adults. 

Home Rink



1965 S. Henderson St.

Bloomington, IN 47401


Alternate Home Rink



2501 Lincoln Park Dr.

Columbus, IN, 47201


Follow us on Facebook and Twitter